Release details
The Loves - ...Love You

1. WTF?
2. Bubblegum
3. O! My Gawd
4. I Lost My Doll To Rock & Roll
5. That Boy Is Mine
6. I Want Love & Affection (Not The House Of Correction)
7. King Kong Blues
8. December Boy
9. It's... The End Of The World
10. The Very Stars Were Meant For Us

Revolver by The Beatles, Nevermind The Bollocks Here’s The Sex Pistols and Oasis’ Definitely Maybe – The Loves new LP …Love You is shorter than all of these AND it’s got a member of the Velvet Underground as the voice of Jesus on it.

This, The Love’s final LP before they call time on ten tawdry years at the top on Valentine’s Day 2011, was recorded at Soup Studios underneath East London’s Duke Of Uke shop, as were their last two albums Technicolour and Three. Rejected LP titles included “So Long Fuckers”, “What?” and “The Pains Of Being Poor Through Art”. It was mixed and mastered by Rob Jones of The Voluntary Butler Scheme fame and is as shiny a pop record you will hear this year (… made on this budget, anyway!)

Lead single “December Boy” has real live violins on it and a wall of backing vocals from Emma Hall of Pocketbooks and former Love (now head of The School) Liz Hunt with whom Simon wrote the stomping number, “That Boy Is Mine”. Elswehere Nathaniel Mayer’s 1966 soul single “I Want Love and Affection (Not The House Of Correction)” gets a Loves overhauling and made into a Merseybeat thing complete with caterwauling “singing”, nasal backing vocals and incessant handclaps.

“O! My Gawd” features Mindy from the American group Still Flyin’ on vocals in what is The Loves version of hip-hop – you’ve been warned. The debt to Tom-Tom Club is acknowledged in the backing vocals. The Stones-y ballad “I Lost My Doll To Rock’n’Roll” is the only song not to be recorded at Soup, as any version attempted could not capture the feeling of Simon’s original 8-track demo. The Loves go Led Zeppelin (sort of) on “King Kong Blues” with squally guitars & a “wep-weh-dow” guitar lick much loved by people who love Jimi Hendrix (Of which Simon Love is not one).

Doug Yule from The Velvet Underground is the voice of Jesus’ answer-phone on “It’s…The End Of The World” another song (like opener “WTF? or How I Realised I’d Wasted My Life”) about coming to terms with the fact that you’ll never amount to anything and is based on Simon’s one and only acid experience; “I thought when I took it I’d get some sort of cosmic answer but instead I got depressed and I thought I’d cut my hair because I found a pair of scissors with a single strand of hair next to them,” says the singing idiot. Producer Simon Trought contributes the Brian May harmony guitar solo at the end of the song.

The LP closes with a cover of comedian Jake Yapp’s “The Very Stars Were Meant For Us”, a song Simon first heard late one Sunday night on BBC 7 as he was drifting off to sleep and it serves as a short pick-me-up after the depressing futility of “It’s…The End Of The World”

This is The Loves’ final LP because… just because.